Webinar: Bioanalytical assay development using LC-MS/MS

A free webinar, Sensitive signature peptide quantification using accurate mass spectrometry, was hosted by DDW on December 1, 2021, at 4PM GMT, 9AM PT; 12PM ET; 5PM CET. It was supported by SCIEX 

Emerging advancements in protein biotherapeutics are driving the need for more sensitive and accurate bioanalytical methods for their quantification. Serving as an orthogonal technology to the traditional ligand binding assays (LBAs), LC-MS has been routinely adopted for quantitative measurement of protein levels in bioanalytical laboratories.  

To improve the sensitivity issues related to the detection of relatively large biotherapeutic peptides, researchers can quantify signature peptides—small, unique peptides resulting from tryptic digests of the parent protein—rather than directly detect the intact protein itself. This technique can lead to a significant improvement in sensitivity, achieving LLOQs as low as 10 pg/mL. However, during bioanalysis, overlapping peaks or impurities from biological matrices can negatively affect sensitivity and selectivity. In these cases, relying on MRM transitions alone for peptide detection may be inadequate for overcoming the isobaric interferences and high baseline noise that can negatively influence the signal-to-noise ratios during bioanalysis. 

Dr. Xin Zhang, Senior Application Scientist at SCIEX, will present an assay development method using accurate mass spectrometry to quantify a series of signature peptides in rat plasma. She will also provide an overview of the fundamental steps to develop a highly sensitive and selective quantitative assay for signature peptides. 

This webinar will benefit any scientist and lab director involved in bioanalytical assay development using LC-MS/MS.  

Watch on demand for free here. 

Image credit: Trust “Tru” Katsande

Suggested Reading

Join FREE today and become a member
of Drug Discovery World

Membership includes:

  • Full access to the website including free and gated premium content in news, articles, business, regulatory, cancer research, intelligence and more.
  • Unlimited App access: current and archived digital issues of DDW magazine with search functionality, special in App only content and links to the latest industry news and information.
  • Weekly e-newsletter, a round-up of the most interesting and pertinent industry news and developments.
  • Whitepapers, eBooks and information from trusted third parties.
Join For Free